Home » Common Reference » Neuroradiology » Intracranial hemorrhage stages MRI

Intracranial hemorrhage stages MRI

             Intracranial Hemorrhage Stages on MRI


Stage Timeline T1 T2 Type of hemoglobin
Hyperacute < 1 day Iso to hypointense Iso to hyperintense
Intracellular oxyhemoglobin
Acute 1-3 days Iso to hypointense Hypointense
Intracellular deoxyhemoglobin
Early subacute 3-7 days Hyperintense Hypointense
Intracellular methemoglobin
Late subacute 7-28 days Hyperintense Hyperintense
Extracellular methemoglobin




>28 days








Mnemonic:   I Be, IdDy, BiDy, BaBy, DaDdy  (I=Iso, B=Bright, D=Dark)


The above stages do not apply to intraspinal hemorrhage. Intraspinal hemorrhage is similar to hemorrhage in the rest of the body which has much more heterogeneous and unpredictable stages.  Sometimes but not always intraspinal hemorrhage roughly follows the stages below: 

Early (< 10 days)  T1-ISO, T2-Hyper

Late (10-28 days) T1-Hyper, T2-Hyper

Chronic (>28 days) T1-Hypo, T2-Hypo